Nominations announced for the North East Retail Crime awards!


Another year of exceptional work has been achieved by the members and partners of the NERCP network. What better way to celebrate those achievements than recognising those teams and individuals who have made it happen.

2018 marks the 4th North East Retail Crime Recognition Awards where NERCP have the opportunity to thank all those people that have gone above and beyond in supporting not only the work of the partnership, but also for their input to retail crime prevention as a whole.

This year's awards are sponsored by the North East founded business Greggs plc who are a key contributor to the region's economy and do much work in the community via their charitable arm the Greggs Foundation.                                                                                            

Winners will be announced at this year's North East Retail Crime Conference, which takes place on Thursday 25th October at The Durham Centre. We are honoured to once again be presenting the awards with Cleveland's Police and Crime Commissioner Barry Coppinger.

Good luck to all the excellent nominations!

The nominations are as follows:

Most interactive Store/Loss Prevention/Security Team

  • Wilko - North East
  • Fenwick - Newcastle
  • Matalan - Sunderland
  • John Lewis - Newcastle
  • Marks & Spencer - Middlesbrough
  • Boots Northgate - Darlington
  • One Stop - Grindon
  • Debenhams - Middlesbrough


Most interactive policing team

  • Newcastle City Neighbourhood Team
  • Middlesbrough Town Neighbourhood Team
  • Cramlington Town Neighbourhood Team
  • Consett Town Neighbourhood Team
  • West Auckland Neighbourhood Team


Contribution to the NERCP – Retail

  • Tim McIntyre - Intu Metrocentre
  • Colin Smith - Hill Street Shopping Centre
  • Jackson Love - Teesside Shopping Park
  • Simone Bryce - The Riverwalk
  • Lynn Stainsby - Captain Cook Square
  • Linda Brayson - Marks and Spencer Newcastle
  • Peter Suddick - Next North East
  • Brian Lee - Marks & Spencer Silverlink


Contribution to the NERCP – Police

  • Sgt Adam Norris - Durham Constabulary
  • PC John Bowman - Northumbria Police
  • C/Insp Marc Anderson - Cleveland Police
  • DS Emma Dunbar - Northumbria Police
  • PCSO Simon Smethurst - Cleveland Police
  • PCSO Leesa Bennison - Durham Police


Overall best strategic input

  • Pauline Duncan - Asda
  • Sgt Dan Whyte - Northumbria Police
  • Joe Rutlidge - Onestop
  • D/Supt Kevin Weir - Durham Constabulary
  • Gaynor Stevens - New Look
  • C/Insp Yakoob Teladia - Cleveland Police

Shopping Centre/Park of the year

  • Intu Metrocentre
  • Teesside Park
  • Hillstreet Shopping Centre
  • Manor Walks Shopping Centre
  • Cleveland Centre
  • Middleton Grange Shopping Centre
  • Captain Cook Square
  • Cornmill Shopping Centre


Retailer of the year

  • Asda
  • Marks & Spencer
  • Iceland
  • TK Maxx


Long term contribution award



Best of luck to all of those nominated, thank you for your continued support to the NERCP!